top of page

Homemade Bread

Wait, wait, wait! Don't give up on this post yet! So many people think making bread from home is terribly hard. Impossible. That it's some secret formula that only grandmas and Laura Ingalls Wilder know. Spoiler: it's not.

Yes, I may have an advantage because my mom has always made homemade bread. I never fully appreciated her homemade bread while I was growing up. I actually loved the times that I would get to eat that thin, light, airy bread that other families would make into grilled cheese or sandwiches. But now that I am feeding my own family, I've realized a couple things.

1. Store-bought bread is expensive. Yeah, you can probably get the white cheap bread for $1.49 a loaf (if you're lucky), but if you get organic, whole-grain, or less-processed loaf of bread, there's a steep ascent. The way I buy ingredients to bake bread, I can usually make a loaf of bread for about $0.40.

2. Store-bought bread is not very healthy. No judgment here, because I still buy a loaf here and there, and I still get cravings for it now and then. (I also eat queso and that's not very healthy for me, so don't think I'm looking down at you, ha.) If you're curious, look into the process of bleaching flour. Yikes. Also look into the amount of preservatives that are added to a loaf of bread to keep it shelf-stable for as long as does. Not to mention that bread is one of those "simple carbs" that we should try not to consume daily. Yeah, you can get "healthier" bread, but refer to point 1.

3. Homemade bread makes your whole house smell good. Okay, this is totally superficial, but it really does. And it does take time, but not much work...does that make sense?

There are thousands of recipes on the internet, and you can find one tailored to your specific needs. Dairy free? Gluten free? Lots of grains and seeds and nuts? Natural sweeteners? Kid-friendly? Multiple-loaves? Single-loaf? They're all there.

Are you sold yet?

No? Okay. I get it! Move along. Be free!

Yes? Awesome! Here's what I use, and what you need!

-Something to mix it in. You can use a big bowl if you have to, but a mixer with a lid is ideal. I use the mixer my mom gave me for my wedding--a Bosch universal plus 800 watt. Thanks, Mom! It's a beast; it will mix 5 loaves of bread at a time. It is worth the investment if you determine making bread is something you love. I love my Kitchenaid, too, but sometimes it's nice to have a lid to keep things from flying everywhere! It will also make a TON of chocolate chip cookie dough, in case you were wondering....

-Active dry yeast. I think the yeast is what scares people out of making bread. It's not scary...in fact it's pretty boring. You can buy those individual packets, but I buy the bigger jar. Pro tip: store it in the freezer and it stays fresh for a very long time. You don't even have to thaw it before using it, just use it in your recipe as it says to, and it thaws instantly.​

-A thermometer. It doesn't have to be fancy. In fact, I think I got this one at Walmart for like $1.55 or something like that. All you need is to be able to make sure your liquid is not too hot or cold. This is literally the only trick to making sure your yeast works. Keep your liquids between 105 and 115 degrees F when you add in the yeast!

-Bread pans. You can get old ones from thrift stores for $0.50. Or you can splurge on USA pans which you will not regret. I won't buy any other brand of bakeware now. You don't even need cooking spray most of the time. I can turn out round cakes out of my round cake pan and not even have to wash the pan (let alone have half the cake stay in the pan!). Bonus: they're made in the USA. Get them on Amazon or at Bed Bath and Beyond.

That's it! That is all of the "specialty" items you'll need. And bread flour. I don't know what the difference is, but you need it. All-purpose just isn't the same!

Amish Sweet White Bread

I love this recipe because it tastes a bit like Hawaiian Bread. Roll it out before putting it in the pan, add some cinnamon and brown sugar, and you have a great cinnamon bread, too!

1 cup water (110 degrees)

1 cup whole milk (110 degrees)

2/3 cup sugar

1-1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast

1-1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 cup melted butter

5-1/2 cups bread flour, approximately

butter to brush on top after baking

1. Dissolve sugar and yeast into milk and water. Whisk.

2. Add butter and salt. Whisk.

3. Add flour one cup at a time. After 2 cups, switch mixer attachment to the dough hook, if you're using one. You'll know you have enough flour when the dough is sticky to the touch, but you can pull your finger away clean. It should also pull away from the sides of the mixing bowl.

4. Knead for 5 minutes.

5. Turn out dough into a big bowl or a clean, floured countertop, cover with a dishtowel, and let rise for 1 hour.

6. Punch down, divide into two loaves, and put into bread pans.

7. Rise for 23 minutes.

8. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until top is as brown as you like it.

9. Take out of the oven, butter top of bread, and turn out onto a cooling rack. Once cool, put into a bread bag or ziplock bag to keep it from drying out.


bottom of page